Dont Mess with Texas

Last week, my friend, Cody, introduced me to La Fiesta Haciena, a store/restaurant a few kilometers from my house. It is run by a woman from Texas and, for all intents and purposes, is a scaled down version of Costco in Ghana. Literally, everything in that store (I think) was shipped to Ghana from Costco.

Among other things, La Fiesta Hacienda has Cheerios, Progresso Clam Chowder, and Craisins. I decided not to pay $24 for Cheerios, but you better believe I forked over the $3.00 for the chowder.

More importantly, the restaurant attached to the store has, by far, the best burger and fries combination I have had in Ghana. For one thing, they wrap the burgers in tinfoil, which gives it a slightly greasier/authentic feel. More importantly, they somehow recreated that ketchup-pickles combination you find in a McDonald’s Quarter Pounder (not to mention the thick buns and legitimately tasty patties). Check-it out:

Heavenly Food

Heavenly Food

In other news, I fly home from Ghana exactly one month from today. I’m looking to finish strong here with the baseball work, the research, and the overall adventure. And, as far as I’m concerned, there’s nothing wrong with some good burgers to give me the fuel for that strong finish.

2 Responses to “Dont Mess with Texas”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Glad you found some tasty burgers! Good luck with your last month 🙂

  2. Ben Says:

    I could go for some Fiesta Hacienda!

Leave a comment